The Wayne County Foundation is pleased to announce that among a pool of 79 highly competitive applicants, five high school seniors who attend Wayne County schools have been selected as finalists for the 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.

Emily Cox, Lincoln High School
Esther Etherington, Richmond High School
Devin Frazier, Centerville High School
Shayna Morris, Lincoln High School
Garrett Walther, Centerville High School

From the five finalists, two will be awarded the scholarship. The applications were thoroughly reviewed and independently scored by members of the Foundation’s selection committee. In selecting the finalists, consideration was given for a student’s activities, achievements, community service, academic performance, financial need, work experience, and leadership potential.

Finalists will be interviewed in October and interview scores will determine the finalists’ rankings. The committee’s recommendations will be submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. for final review of the scholarship recipients. The 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars for Wayne County will be announced in December 2021.

Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are awarded a four-year, full-tuition scholarship to pursue baccalaureate degrees at colleges or universities in the state Indiana. The scholarship also includes up to $900 annually for required textbooks and equipment. To date, more than 50 Wayne County students have been awarded the scholarship since the program began in 1998.

For more information on the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship or other scholarships administered by Wayne County Foundation, visit or contact Alex Painter, Community Engagement Officer, at 765-962-1638.