Foundation Awards

Each year, the Wayne County Foundation honors two individuals or organizations with the Charles A. Rodefeld and the Ruth J. Wickemeyer Awards. Read below for more details on each award.

Charles A. Rodefeld Award

Ruth J. Wickemeyer Award

The Charles A. Rodefeld Award for Leadership in Philanthropy and the Community honors a man who was not widely known as a philanthropist or worker for non-profit organizations.  He was, instead, a person who moved quietly but steadily to help meet community needs.  

Named for the Foundation’s first Executive Director, this award recognizes paid or volunteer not-for-profit leaders who personify exceptional service to others in the name of community progress.

The Rodefeld Award seeks to recognize Wayne County citizens and/or companies who have been there when agencies or organizations most needed them, who served faithfully and well, though without fanfare, and who have provided leadership and significant financial support over the years.  To qualify for the Charles A. Rodefeld Award, an individual, corporation,  or organization must have demonstrated exceptional leadership and innovative commitment to addressing  a community concern or a dedication to improving the effectiveness of an existing charitable institution while maintaining an attitude of humility.  Evidence of achievement must be demonstrated by gifts of volunteer leadership and significant personal/corporate resources.

Ruth is perhaps best remembered for maintaining the highest ethical standards and expressing true appreciation for even the smallest contributions. She is fondly remembered for her diligent leadership for our community through this award.

Candidates for the award must demonstrate a history of significant service in the Wayne County not-for-profit community, an unswerving commitment to the highest ethical standards, and evidence of articulating a vision for community improvement by their leadership and/or significant accomplishments.

2023 Award Winners

Dave Rodgers

2022 Charles A. Rodefeld
Award Winner

Robin Henry

2022 Ruth J. Wickemeyer
Award Winner

Previous Rodefeld Award Winners
Winners 1994-Present

1994 – Charles A. Rodefeld
1995 – Robert W. Rosa
1996 – J. Ross and Natalie Harrington
1997 – Kathleen Postle
1998 – Becky Rosa
1999 – John M. Harlan
2000 – Jim and Helen Cope
2001 – William R. Niersbach
2002 – Victor R. Jose
2003 – Donald C. McCullough
2004 – Tom and Claire Ann Milligan
2005 – Inezetta Stiver
2006 – Paul Lingle
2007 – Andy Cecere
2008 – Albert Gentry
2009 – Jon Ford
2010 – David and Carla Stidham
2011 – Richard ‘Jeff’ Jeffers
2012 – Cheri Jetmore
2013 – Father John Luerman
2014 – Frank and Mary Alice Adney
2015 – Jack and Debra Edelman
2016 – Ray Ontko
2017 – Ginger Gray
2018 – George Schmid
2019 – Rick Ahaus
2020 – Monica Koechlein
2021 – Roy Ridge*

*Awarded Posthumously

 2022 – Dave Rodgers

Previous Wickemeyer Award Winners
Winners 2006-Present

2006 – Pat Bowers
2007 – Wilbur Rodenberg
2008 – Dr. James Daggy
2009 – Betty Mark
2010 – Alan Spears
2011 – David Nixon
2012 – Jill King
2013 – Penn Ansorg
2014 – Aileen Wickett-Harris
2015 – Karole Passmore
2016 – Mark W. Harris
2017 – June Miller
2018 – Margurite Clark
2019 – Bill and Marilyn Martus
2020 – Aileen Githens

2022 – Robin Henry